11/03/2010

I’m thinking about not attending the graduation ceremony this summer. For several reasons. First, I just remembered an event that the family attended and my dad was really grumpy and uninspiring. I will not have that. I will not have other people see me in that situation. Second, I want to look my best at least for once in my three years in this place, but that seems very impossible. I wanted to save money to buy a nice summer dress and some nice heels but that too is not feasible because I have to save money for some other stuff that needs doing this summer, and as if I need to mention it, I don’t have a lot of money in the first place to save from. Third, I don’t have any friends, so while everyone will be catching up and being all jovial, I will just be standing there chatting to my parents, or rather just my mum if my dad happens to be in one of those moods. I can’t do that. I don’t want to put myself through that. I’ve decided this year it’s about striving for the best, if I can’t have the best, then I wont bother. I’ve always felt like I don’t fit in with the crowd at my uni. Obviously, due to all the things that I lack, material wise of course, otherwise what else? So, I will not let this fact be further illustrated on that day. The most important thing for me now is to complete my degree and pass. I want to begin a new phase of my life as soon as possible. I don’t care about anything else.

Leave a Reply

